Research group

Lotte Jensen
(1972) is associate professor of Early Modern Dutch literature at Radboud University Nijmegen and heads the ‘Proud to be Dutch’ project. Her research focuses on national identity formation, women writers, Dutch theatre, and the history of the press during the period 1600-1850. She is currently working on a study of the role of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century war and peace literature in shaping a national identity. Jensen is the first supervisor of all three subprojects. (

Lieke van Deinsen (1987) completed a BA in Dutch Language & Culture and an MPhil in Literature and Literary Theory, both at Radboud University Nijmegen. She wrote her MPhil thesis on the function of emotions in late eighteenth-century Dutch historical drama, and graduated with distinction (cum laude) in August 2011.  (

Bart Verheijen (1985) was awarded an MPhil in History and an MA in Philosophy from Radboud University Nijmegen and the Catholic University of Leuven, and recently completed an M2 at l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales in Paris. His research interests include the conceptualisation of revolutionary terror in French historiography, and the role of historicism in the works of Claude Lefort. Verheijen is working on the second PhD subproject, and focuses on resistance literature written during the French occupation of the Netherlands. (

Alan Moss (1990) completed a BA in Dutch Language and Culture and a MPhil in Literary Studies at the Radboud University Nijmegen. He is working on a PhD project focusing on national and religious identities in Dutch travel accounts of the seventeenth century. (

Johan Oosterman is full professor of medieval Dutch literature and doctoral supervisor of the first and third subproject. (

Remieg Aerts is full professor of political history at Radboud University Nijmegen and doctoral supervisor of the second subproject. (

‘Proud to be Dutch’ is part of the HLCS study group’s Europe and Trans(National) Identitieresearch programme.

IMG_3390Lotte Jensen, Lieke van Deinsen, Bart Verheijen and Alan Moss at the gates of Versailles.